I explored St. Germain-des-Près and the Latin Quarter today. It was a very relaxing day, which I needed to recover from the jet lag of the day before. I considered renting one of the clunky-looking bikes that are available from electronic kiosks throughout Paris. I don't know, I think I'm too serious about biking to be seen on one of those, but then again, no one I know would see me, and it has been what, 3+ days since I've been on a bike. I don't want to be too out of shape when I get to Montpellier and my first rental bike.
I managed to find a nice little bar in the Latin Quarter with a TV, and when I asked, the Owner said "Certainly, we will be watching the Tour de France today!" So I stopped back after exploring the neighborhood and spent a couple of hours watching the Tour's Stage 1 from Monaco and chatting with the locals and tourists who were there. When I left I realized that some of the people sitting outside at this bar as well as the one across the street were the same people that were there when I went in, several hours earlier. The French sure do know how to do some things right, apparently.
And before I forget, I have to wish all my friends in the States a happy 4th of July. I am disappointed to have missed all the fireworks and picnicing. The thought occurred to me after I booked this trip that I should have extended my stay by 2 more days so that I could be in France on their independence day, July 14, Bastille Day, but alas, that will have to wait for another time.
Au revoir!
No comments:
Post a Comment